Print Page
News: School News

2012 Honors Convocation

Wednesday, May 23, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Max Rodriguez
Share |

On May 11, 2012, the David A. Clarke School of Law held its annual Honors Convocation, a ceremony celebrating the graduating Class of 2012 - and the parents, children, friends, significant others, faculty and staff who supported the them along the way.


Associate Dean of Students Annamaria Steward organized the event and Dean Shelley Broderick served as Master of Ceremonies.



Dean Broderick, UDC President Allen Sessoms and Student Bar Association President James King, ’12, made welcoming remarks. Professor William L. Robinson, himself a former Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) attorney, introduced the Convocation Speaker, Jacqueline A. Berrien, Esq., the current Chair of the EEEOC. Ms. Berrien’s speech was followed by a song sung by Deborah Gibbs, Faculty Secretary at UDC-DCSL.


Dean Shelley Broderick introduced the Advocate for Justice Award winner, Melinda Douglas, '81, who was recognized for her tireless work as Public Defender for the City of Alexandria. Professor Wade Henderson introduced the Equal Justice Award winner, Maryland House of Delegates Member Keiffer J. Mitchell Jr. (D-Baltimore), ’94, who was recognized for his work in helping to pass the same-sex marriage bill in the Maryland House of Delegates, which was later signed into law by Governor O’Malley.


Jessica Acosta, Debra Alia Cambel, and Joyce Roldan presented a Class of 2012 photo slideshow. Deirdre Brown was chosen by the Class of 2012 to give remarks. Dean Broderick presented the Judge Pryor Legacy Award to Shalena Caesar-Williams, the Edgar Cahn Community Service Award to Jessica Acosta, and the Unsung Hero Award to Debra Alia Cambel. The Dean also presented staff awards to Office Manager Michael Harris and law librarians Helen Frazer and Brittany Kolonay, and recognized Professor John Brittain and incoming Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Laurie Morin for their outstanding efforts. The Dean also hailed the graduation of our first three LL.M. graduates, Kaitlin Banner, Tanya Asim Cooper, and Maunica Sthanki.


Assistant Dean of Admission, Vivian Canty, and Public Outreach Coordinator, Max Rodriguez, presented the Class of 2012. The ceremony closed with a reading of the School of Law's credo "This I Believe" by Professor Edgar Cahn.


Site Search
Sign In

School News

No Classes/University Closed (Independence Day)

8/1/2018 » 8/3/2018
2018 Youth Summit

8/9/2018 » 8/17/2018
Orientation and Start of Classes for First Year Students (8/9-8/17)

Fall 2018 Upper Level Classes Start