Print Page   |   Contact Us
About the University
The UDC Student Center. Photo by Cannon Design
The UDC Student Center. Photo by Cannon Design.

The University of the District of Columbia (UDC) is the only public institution of higher education in the District of Columbia and the only urban land-grant university in the United States. It offers nearly 70 degree programs, encompassing a wide range of education levels and interests, through the following colleges and schools:

  • College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability and Environmental Sciences;
  • College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Community College;
  • School of Business and Public Administration;
  • School of Engineering and Applied Sciences; and
  • David A. Clarke School of Law.

UDC was created in 1974 from the merger of three existing institutions of higher education: DC Teacher's College, Federal City College and the Washington Technical Institute. As a result, while a new University in some respects, UDC has generations of alumni. UDC has been accorded Historically Black College and University (HBCU) status by the federal government -- a status that brings prestige, additional resources, and additional responsibility. UDC is one of only six HBCUs in the nation with an American Bar Association-accredited law school.

UDC is committed to responding to both the academic aspirations and the occupational needs of local residents. It keeps abreast of the job marketplace, producing competitive programs and graduates in response to current trends. Treating the entire city as its campus, the University's academic programs are enhanced by the experiential learning, civic engagement, and career development opportunities provided by its location in the nation's capital.

Site Search
Sign In

School News

Law Day Conversation with the D.C. Courts

5/3/2017 » 5/15/2017
Spring Final Examination Period

2017 Law Alumni Reunion!