Print Page   |   Contact Us
News: School News

Prof. John Brittain Wins Gertrude E. Rush Award!

Wednesday, April 19, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Joe Libertelli
Share |

Our congratulations to UDC Law Professor John C. Brittain who, on April 1, 2017, was honored by the National Bar Association with the Gertrude E. Rush Award.  His co-recipients included Kim M. Keenan, Esq., Joyce Moorehead, Esq., William H. “Billy” Murphy, Jr., Esq., Grace E. Speights, Esq., and The Honorable Emmet G. Sullivan.

The Award is a celebration of Gertrude Elzora Durden Rush (Aug. 5, 1880-Sept. 5, 1962), the first African-American female lawyer in Iowa who was admitted to the Iowa bar in 1918 and who also helped found the National Bar Association in 1925.  

Professor Brittain is pictured here at the Awards Dinner with his wife Sondra Brittain.   


Site Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
School News

NLG Chapter Awards Dinner

The Future of National Health Care: Alice Rivlin and Stuart Butler

Law Day Conversation with the D.C. Courts